New leaders of Harris County Medical Society & Houston Academy of Medicine installed

The Harris County Medical Society (HCMS) and Houston Academy of Medicine (HAM) held a celebration to welcome in the new presidents and officers. Texas Medical Association President Dr. Tom Garcia acted as Master of Ceremony and introduced Dr. Kimberly E. Monday as the 115th president of HCMS, Dr. Alan P. Glombicki as the 2016 HAM president as well as the other HCMS and HAM officers. During the evening, HAM honored Dr. William Schaffner with the John P. McGovern Compleat Physician Award. This national award recognizes a physician who embodies excellence, humane and ethical care, and commitment to medical humanities.

Dr. Monday, a board-certified neurologist, is in private practice at the Houston Neurologic Institute (HNI), which she cofounded in 1997. HNI is affiliated with Memorial Hermann Mischer Neuroscience Associates.

The 2016 HAM President, Dr. Glombicki, is a gastroenterologist and hepatologist. He is in private practice at the Houston Digestive Diseases Consultants, which has three offices in Houston.

Dr. Monday and Dr. Glombicki will serve as presidents for one-year terms, ending Dec. 31, 2016. The four HCMS Membersat- Large are the officers of HAM. The HCMS Executive Board officers for 2016 are Kimberly E. Monday, MD, president; Lisa L. Ehrlich, MD, president-elect; Gary J. Sheppard, MD, vice president; and Mina K. Sinacori, MD, secretary/treasurer.

The HAM Board of Trustees for 2016 are Alan P. Glombicki, MD, HAM President and HCMS Member-at-Large; George D. Santos, MD, HAM Vice President and HCMS Member-at-Large; Bernard M. Gerber, MD, HAM Treasurer and HCMS Member-at-Large; and Ronald S. Walters, MD, HAM Secretary and HCMS Member-at- Large.