TPS announces 2015 Awards

The Texas Pediatric Society announced this year’s winner of the Mary Greene— Noble Special Achievement Award and Charles W. Daeschner, Jr., MD Lifetime Achievement Award at the 2015 TPS Annual Meeting held in Sugarland, TX recently.

Mary Greene—Noble Special Achievement Award: Atoosa Kourosh, MD of Baylor College of Medicine

The Mary Greene-Noble Special Achievement Award recognizes a committee member or Chair or Executive Board member who has worked on and completed a specific program or project during the past year that has benefited children, the community, the Society and/or the practice of pediatrics – beyond accomplishments and/or normal activities of the other committee members.

Dr. Kourosh is receiving this award for her outstanding work and enthusiastic involvement in the areas of injury prevention, environmental health, and obesity projects. She enjoys mentoring physicians in training, especially those interested in global health and patient advocacy.

Charles W. Daeschner, Jr., MD Lifetime Achievement Award: Michael Speer, MD, Professor of Pediatrics and Medical Ethics at Baylor College of Medicine

The Charles W. Daeschner, Jr. Lifetime Achievement Award is the highest honor of the Texas Pediatric Society and awarded by the TPS Executive Board to those special individuals, whose careers, lifetime accomplishments, and contributions to Pediatrics emulate those standards set by Dr. Daeschner.

Dr. Speer exemplifies the mission and values of the Texas Pediatric Society previously serving as President. He is board certified in pediatrics and neonatal-perinatal medicine and teaches at Baylor College of Medicine as professor of pediatrics and ethics. Dr. Speer serves as deputy chief of Pediatrics at The Methodist Hospital and medical director of the Neonatal Nurse Practitioner Program at Texas Children’s Hospital. He received his medical degree from Baylor College of Medicine.